BBR News - The First Annual BBR Motorsports 150R World Championship is a Great Success

Glen Helen, CA (April 22nd 2007) - CRF150R pro riders from all over the country descended upon Glen Helen Raceway Park to compete for the $5,000 pro purse sponsored by BBR Motorsports and King Racing USA. In the first moto, the two BBR factory riders (#186 MiniMoto SX Champion, Derek Costella and #24 two-time Langtown Champion, Timmy Weigand) powered their way to the front of the pack going into the famous ‘Talladega’ right hand sweeper. By the time they got to the top of ‘Mt. St. Helen’, there was a healthy gap back to 3rd place. From that point on, it was a two-man race with Costella finishing right behind Weigand at the finish line. Benny Breck was the first of the rest of the pack to cross the line to grab 3rd in the moto.

The second moto gave the crowd one of the most exciting races of the weekend. Like the first Moto, the two BBR Factory riders got an early gap and pulled away from the rest of the field. Weigand was leading but had Costella all over him in the corners. Costella made a pass and overtook Weigand for the lead on the second to last lap. Weigand fought back on the last lap charging the inside line up the big hill putting him right on Costella’s wheel as they rounded the tight right-hander and dropped into the huge descent. They traded spots on the next few corners and then drag raced side-by-side over the step up and all the way up ‘Yamaha Hill’. The announcers and crowd were riveted by the epic battle unfolding on the far-side of the course. Weigand and Costella made contact bouncing off each other multiple times as they battled through the last quarter of the track and ended up going into the last two corners with Weigand in the lead. Costella made his final move by aggressively cutting to the inside on a tight left hander, but got a foot hung up in a rut, giving Weigand a clear shot at the final corner and the win. Eric Pucelik finished 3rd in the second moto and his (4-3) performance on the day was good enough to put him on the podium.

The Glen Helen track, which is always fast and often rough by the end of the weekend, was the perfect place to pit the fastest 150R machines and riders in the country against each other. The BBR Motorsports Pro Purse paid 10 deep.

Here are the results for the top 10:
1st Tim Weigand, Factory BBR (1-1)
2nd Derek Costella, Factory BBR (2-2)
3rd Eric Pucelik, Honda (4-3)
4th Benny Breck, Honda (3-4)
5th Adam Lane, Honda (9-5)
6th Caleb Gosselaar, Honda (8-6)
7th Ted Seely, Honda (7-7)
8th Ryan Corum, Honda (6-8)
9th Jason Ellis, Factory BBR (11-10)
10th Marc Tucker, Honda (13-9)